Award header


The 2023 Kenny Doren Award


Call for nominees for the 2023 Kenny Doren Award.

Kenny Doren was a Canadian media artist and composer whose practice employed musical interventions and political discourse utilizing video and performance. His art installations, videos, and digital operas have been presented in Canada, China, Finland, France, and the U.S.A. He is an Ed Video honourary lifetime member, was a dear friend, a great artist, and a champion of artist-run centres and galleries across Canada.

To honour Kenny’s spirit, Ed Video has established this award to be presented to an extraordinary community individual who has demonstrated a strong artistic practice in or contribution to media art with an emphasis in audio. The award is for the amount of $1,200.

Past recipients:

2023 - Lisa Conway
2022 - Dustin Seabrook
2021 - Rene Meshake
2020 - Elaquent
2019 - Evan Gordon
2018 - Paul Walde
2017 - Steve Bates
2016 - Annie Dunning
2015 - Tasman Richardson

To nominate an individual for the Kenny Doren Award, please provide:

- the name and brief biography (1 page maximum) of the nominee
- your contact information (name, telephone and e-mail)
- an explanation (1 page maximum) as to why the individual would be a worthy recipient

Incomplete nominations will not be considered. The award will be decided by a jury of knowledgeable peers from the independent media arts community, and will be presented at Ed Video’s Annual General Meeting on June 22, 2023.

Nominees not selected will be kept for consideration in future years

Nominations must reach Ed Video by MONDAY, MAY 8, 2023 at 5:00PM. 

How to submit:

(Please put 2023 Kenny Doren Nomination in subject heading).


Kenny Doren Award – 2023 Nominations
c/o Ed Video
404 York Road
Guelph, ON
N1E 3H4


- Nominee must be a Canadian citizen, permanent resident or protected person.
- Must be nominated by a third party.
- Nominee cannot be a member of  Ed Video’s Board of Directors or Staff.


*Ed Video is continually accepting donations to sustain and enhance this award and thanks all contributors for their support.*